A divorced parent cannot simply move out of state with his or her child in the event of a job offer or other life change. The state of Missouri has strict requirements for allowing a divorced parent to relocate. There must be a specific notice given for a relocation even less than 30 miles away and at least 60 days of notice must be given, in writing by certified mail, to the other parent.
At the law firm of Holder Susan Slusher Oxenhandler LLC, our lawyers can help you achieve your goals, whether you need to pursue a relocation, or you object to the proposed relocation of your former spouse. If you want to know your rights and what to expect from the process, consult with us and get the information and advice that you need.
Specific Requirements for Relocation in Missouri
When applying for relocation, you must outline the reasons for the move, your new address and what changes need to be made to the visitation schedule. In some cases, you must be able to provide a way for your former spouse to be able to continue a relationship with his or her children, which may include paying for transportation and other travel expenses.
The failure to give notice of relocation may result in losing custody of your child(ren) and being assessed attorney fees by the other side. We can help you prepare to relocate, negotiate a settlement and fellow the requirements regarding relocation. If the proposed relocation is contested, our lawyers can defend your rights, including at trial if necessary.
Call us in Columbia at 573-355-9270 or reach us online to schedule a free initial consultation and case review. Discuss your family law matters with one of our experienced Missouri child custody attorneys.