Missouri Driver's License Reinstatement
Get Your License Back With Our Attorneys' Help!
Driving in Missouri is considered a privilege and not a right. Missouri
law requires someone convicted of a first DWI offense to have their driver's
license revoked for 30 days, then suspended for an additional 60 days.
A convicted second offense of DWI is even worse since it requires the
driver's license to be revoked for 1 year.
After the period of suspension is over, the driver can file for reinstatement
of driving privileges after completing all of the requirements for reinstatement
with the Department of Revenue. It is up to the driver who lost their
driving privileges to file for reinstatement, the driver's license
will not automatically be returned.
- If your Missouri driving privilege was suspended, revoked, or denied and
you would like to know how to get it back, follow the three steps below.
Determine the reason(s) why your driving privilege was suspended, revoked,
or denied. This information is included in the letter(s) you received
from the Driver License Bureau when your driving privilege was taken away,
or can be found on your current Missouri driver record. You may purchase
a copy of your current driver record at any
Missouri license office, or call (573) 526-2407. The basic fee for a Missouri driver record is
$5.88 per driver record. Other fees may apply.
- Note all reasons why your driving privilege was taken away. A reason should
be listed on each letter, and all the reasons will be listed on your driver
record under "Department Actions."
If you have two or more reasons why your driving privilege was taken away,
look under each reason to see what forms you need and the total amount to pay.
NOTE: You will only need to file one proof of liability insurance form (i.e.,
SR-22 form) even if it is required under all reasons for which you lost
your driving privilege.
For Example: If you lost your driving privilege because of points from speeding tickets,
you must file an SR-22 insurance form and pay $20.
However, if you
ALSO lost your driving privilege due to refusing to take an alcohol or drug
test, you must file proof you completed a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender
Program (SATOP), file an SR-22 insurance form, and pay an additional $45.
Altogether, you must pay a total of $65, complete a SATOP, and file an
SR-22 insurance form.
Contact Our Experienced DWI Lawyers
Contact the law office of Holder Susan Slusher, LLC today at (573) 710-4716
to schedule your
free consultation and case review with an experienced Columbia DWI attorney. Let us work for you!